Sylvian, David - Blemish LP

Main Page > Upcoming releases > 21.10.2022 > Vinyl > Pop/Rock

Sylvian, David - Blemish LP
Product code
Manufacturer's code
Delivery time from
5-15 days
Delivery costs from
32,90 €
incl. VAT 24,00 %

Deliveries begin on 21/10/22


samadhisound and UMC are proud to announce 180gram vinyl reissues of David Sylvian's 'Blemish' & 'Manafon' albums. Vinyl versions of both records have been out of print since their very limited initial pressing in the early 2000s. These new versions of 'Blemish' (1LP) and 'Manafon' (2LP) have been recut for vinyl by veteran engineer Tony Cousins at Metropolis studios.

'Blemish' was David Sylvian's first solo album to be issued on his samadhisound label. Initially released online in 2003, the vinyl version was published in 2004 and is now a collector's item. Working primarily solo, Sylvian created an impromptu suite of songs for guitar, electronics and voice. The compositions were crafted from improvisational sessions by Sylvian and the acclaimed free-jazz guitarist Derek Bailey on three tracks and Austrian guitarist & producer Christian Fennesz on "A Fire In A Forest". Sylvian said about the album at the time, "I wanted to get into those difficult emotions, and penetrate them as deeply as I felt I was capable of doing, in the security of that working space. So, although there were elements of my life that were bringing all these negative emotions to the fore, what I was doing in the studio was taking them further – whereas in life we try to restrain them, we hold them back. We don't allow ourselves to go too far with it because they feel dangerous, they feel threatening. Living through these emotions was very difficult, but finding a voice for them was so cathartic. After that six-week period, I'd felt I'd worked through some very difficult emotions. I felt an enormous amount of release."

Side A
Blemish (13:42)
The Good Son (5:25)
The Only Daughter (5:28)

Side B
The Heart Knows Better (7:52)
She Is Not (0:45)
Late Night Shopping (2:54)
How Little We Need To Be Happy (3:22)
A Fire In The Forest (4:14)
Trauma (5:42)