van Zandt, Townes - A far cry from dead LP

Main Page > Vinyl > Americana/Singer-songwriter

van Zandt, Townes - A far cry from dead LP
Product code
Manufacturer's code
In stock 4 pcs
Delivery time from
1-2 days
Delivery costs from
35,90 €
incl. VAT 24,00 %

For the first time ever, Townes Van Zandt’s Grammy-nominated posthumous 1999 release A Far Cry From Dead will see a vinyl release. Van Zandt recorded the vocal and guitar takes for the album from the late 80s through the early 90s at Texhoma Music Group Studio, the late singer's next door neighbor’s home studio in Nashville, and Jack Clement's Cowboy Arms Hotel and Recording Spa. Townes left the tapes to his widow, Jeanene Van Zandt, who worked with producer Eric Paul to bring the songs to life with a full band including guitarist Richard Bennet (Mark Knopfler, Billy Joel, Steve Earle, Rodney Crowell), percussionist Kenny Malone (Ray Charles, George Jones, Merle Haggard, Johnny Cash, etc.), and Charlie McCoy (Elvis Presley, Bob Dylan, Loretta Lynn, Waylon Jennings) among others.

1. Dollar Bill Blues
2. To Live's To Fly
3. Rex's Blues
4. Sanitarium Blues
5. Ain't Leavin' Your Love
6. Greensboro Woman
7. Snake Mountain Blues
8. Pancho and Lefty
9. For The Sake of the Song
10. Waitin' 'Round To Die
11. Many A Fine Lady
12. Tower Song
13. Squash