Jaakko Eino Kalevi - Chaos magic LP

Main Page > Vinyl > Finnish > Electro/Experimental

Jaakko Eino Kalevi - Chaos magic LP
Product code
Manufacturer's code
Available 2 pcs
Delivery time from
1-2 days
Delivery costs from
34,90 €
incl. VAT 24,00 %

Jaakko Eino Kalevi returns with the announcement of his new album Chaos Magic, due for release on November 17th via Weird World. A double-album of elemental pop and baroque electronics, laced with melody and mystery, it’s the Finn’s wildest statement yet.

Alongside the album announcement, Jaakko also releases the searing synth-led new single, “I Forget”. Featuring guest vocals from Sigurlaug Gísladóttir, it’s an alluring sonic journey and insight into the dazzling, confident sonic world that Jaakko creates. “It is about blacking out and forgetting everything – who you are, where and why,” says Jaakko. “It might sound serious but it’s fun when it’s connected to this beat.”

Largely written and recorded in his new home of Athens, Chaos Magic plots a thrilling course through the Jaakko universe, drawing on cosmic jazz, dub reggae, neon synthpop, tender ballads and space-rock nirvana. It features musical contributions from the French actress and singer Alma Jodorowsky, Jimi Tenor, Faux Real, Yu-Ching Huang and John Moods.

Stylistically, the album covers a lot of ground, from the ice-cool new-wave of “I Forget” and delirium of “Dino’s Deo” to the evocative disco of “Galactic Romance” and “Night Walk”. Taking shape over the past two years, initial demos for the album were made at various spots across Europe – at artist residencies in Geneva and Maajaam, Estonia, and in studios in Berlin and the Greek island of Hydra – before being developed in Athens at Mutual Sound Studios, a place close to Jaakko’s heart, run by his friend Teemu Takatalo, who co-produced and mixed Chaos Magic alongside Jaakko.

An album very much founded in the beauty of collaboration and, in Jaakko’s words, “a ‘back to the roots’ album”, Chaos Magic “is a collection of songs from a certain period without trying to tie them together”. Inspired by his new home and the Greek word kháos, “meaning an abyss or void that was created when Earth and Heaven were separated”, the eclectic, wondrous sounds of the album find beauty in the chaotic nature of the everyday.

Welcome to Jaakko Eino Kalevi’s garden of earthly delights!

1 Chaos Magic
2 Drifting Away
3 Dino's Deo
4 Hell & Heaven
5 Night Walk
6 Palace In My Head
7 I Forget
8 The Chamber of Love
9 Cyborg
10 L'horizon
11 Galactic Romance
12 Trouble Man
13 Let’s See How Things Go


You Might be Interested

Jaakko Eino Kalevi - Chaos magic CD
Weird World
Jaakko Eino Kalevi returns with the announcement of his new album Chaos Magic, due for release on November 17th via Weird World. A... 
16,90 €
Available 1 pc