Angelic Upstarts - The singles 1978-1985 2CD

Etusivu > CD:t > Punk/HC

Angelic Upstarts - The singles 1978-1985 2CD
Valm. tuotekoodi
Saatavilla 0 kpl
Toimitusaika alk.
5-30 pv
Toimituskulut alk.
21,90 €
sis. ALV 24,00 %

44-track 2CD set covering every A and B-side issued by Punk legends Angelic Upstarts between 1978-85.

Running in chronological order, it starts with the self released ‘The Murder Of Liddle Towers’ and is followed by the major label debut of ‘I’m An Upstart’ which hit No.31 in the UK charts.

‘Teenage Warning’ then hit No.29 and saw the band in the nation’s living rooms via their appearance on Top Of The Pops.

A hat-trick of hits was completed when ‘Never ‘Ad Nothin’ hit No.52 in late 1979.

The band moved into the 1980s with hits like ‘Out Of Control’ (No.58), ‘We Gotta Get Out Of This Place’ (No.58 and incredibly appearing here on CD for the first time in its original 7” version), ‘Last Night Another Soldier’ (No.65) and ‘Kids On The Street’ (No.57) before they switched to (then) newly established Independent label Anagram Records.

The hits kept coming though: ‘Woman In Disguise’ reached No.18 in the Independent Chart, swiftly followed by a No.24 for ‘Solidarity’. Despite numerous disruptive line-up changes vocalist Mensi remained a constant throughout and achieved further notoriety with the No.14 ‘Machine Gun Kelly’ and the No.4 ‘Brighton Bomb’. Each of the 17 singles featured has a detailed history included in the booklet which is illustrated by the original sleeves.

CD 1:
1 The Murder of Liddle Towers
2 Police Oppression
3 I'm an Upstart
4 Leave Me Alone
5 Teenage Warning
6 The Young Ones
7 Never 'Ad Nothin'
8 Nowhere Left to Hide
9 Out of Control
10 Shotgun Solution
11 We Gotta Get Out of This Place
12 Unsung Heroes Part II
13 Last Night Another Soldier
14 The Man Who Came in from the Beano
15 England
16 Sticks' Diary
17 Kids On the Street
18 The Sun Never Shines
19 I Understand
20 Never Come Back
21 Heath's Lament
22 Different Strokes
23 Different Dub

CD 2:
1 Never Say Die
2 We Defy You
3 Victory for Poland
4 Woman in Disguise
5 Lust for Glory
6 42nd St.
7 Solidarity
8 Five Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest
9 Dollars and Pounds
10 Don't Stop
11 Not Just a Name
12 The Leech
13 Leave Me Alone
14 Liddle Towers
15 White Riot
16 Machine Gun Kelly
17 Paint It in Red
18 There's a Drink in It
19 Brighton Bomb
20 Thin Red Line
21 Soldier