Burns, Alison & Martin Taylor - Songs for nature CD

Main Page > CD's > Jazz

Burns, Alison & Martin Taylor - Songs for nature CD
Product code
Manufacturer's code
Available 0 pcs
Delivery time from
5-30 days
Delivery costs from
18,90 €
incl. VAT 24,00 %

Scottish-Canadian jazz singer Alison Burns and British fingerstyle guitarist Martin Taylor present 'Songs for Nature', more than just a collection of timeless jazz standards it acts as a musical love letter to the natural world and the composers, lyricists, and musicians it has inspired. Alison Burns brings a smoky, sultry, and understated delivery that seems tailor-made for the intimate embrace of a dimly lit jazz club, yet has enthralled everyone from exuberant music festival attendees to British royalty. Her acclaimed albums 'Kissing Bug' and '1:AM' captured the essence of jazz divas like Julie London and Ella Fitzgerald but with a modern sensibility that resonates globally, underscoring her unique ability to marry the spirit of a bygone jazz age with a contemporary and wide-reaching appeal. This musical blend has taken her on four worldwide tours, enchanting audiences in cities from San Francisco to Shanghai, London to Los Angeles, and solidifying her reputation as a modern-day torchbearer of the vocal jazz tradition.

Martin Taylor, described by Pat Metheny as one of the most spectacular solo guitar players in the history of the instrument, co-pilots this journey. Taylor, a virtuoso whose fingers dance over strings with a finesse that's both heart-stopping and profound, ensures that 'Songs for Nature' is imbued with the touch of a master craftsman. With a career that includes collaborations ranging from Jeff Beck and Stephane Grappelli to Bill Wyman and Jamie Cullum, Taylor's guitar playing weaves a rich tapestry of sound that perfectly complements Burns' vocal artistry.

This duo's collaborative alchemy is on full display across tracks like "Nature Boy", "Lullaby of the Leaves" and "The Gentle Rain". Together they have crafted a soundtrack that is as evocative of the earth's wonders as it is of human emotion. Recorded amidst the pristine beauty of New York's Catskill Mountains, each song resonates with the care and intention that only true reverence for nature can inspire. Alison and Martin are not just musicians at the height of their powers; they are also sonic naturalists, and this album is their field recording, capturing not the sounds of the wild, but the emotions it stirs within us.

Engineered by John Valesio (Norah Jones), Grammy-Award winner Dave O'Donnell (Jason Mraz, Kurt Elling, Sheryl Crow), Cicely Balston (David Bowie, Nick Cave) and produced by James Taylor, 'Songs for Nature' promises an auditory experience as lush and layered as the ecosystems it seeks to honour.

1 The Gentle Rain
2 Nature Boy
3 The Best Things In Life Are Free
4 The Folks Who Live On The Hill
5 Hushabye Mountain
6 Little Jazz Bird
7 Lemon Twist
8 Someone To Watch Over Me
9 I've Got The World On A String
10 Lullaby Of The Leaves
11 A Foggy Day
12 You Brought A New Kind Of Love To Me
13 Lullaby Of Birdland
14 Moon River