22 Pistepirkko - Rumble city lala land LP

Etusivu > Uutuudet > 8.11.2019 > Vinyylit

22 Pistepirkko - Rumble city lala land LP
Valm. tuotekoodi
Varastossa 6 kpl
Toimitusaika alk.
1-2 pv
Toimituskulut alk.
21,90 €
sis. ALV 24,00 %
22,90 €

Toimitukset 22.11.2019 alkaen


22-PISTEPIRKKO Rumble City LaLa Land
A 1994 garage / indiepop classic album first time on vinyl.

Hip Hop, Suicide, Aerosmith and Ali Farka Toure would be the cornerstones of this album. Hip-Hop beats would sound like the modern shoes of John Lee Hooker.

P-K: “Some people were pretty perplexed when we talked about our “Aerosmith style” and “hip-hop stuff” to them. I can understand why this happened. This was part of the 22-PP code that Asko and I perfectly understood. To us, it is great to get excited about something and it is wonderful to be a fan. This kind of stuff refuels the magic carpet we are riding on. At the time of Bare Bone Nest we would shriek with joy because of blues. A blues reporter had read what we had said about blues and when he wrote a review of our album after that, he was pretty amazed, saying that 22- Pistepirkko didn’t have anything to do with blues!”

The band themselves categorize their fourth english sung album as "a simple pop and rock album". Knowing 22-Pistepirkko - (just a) little bit more - that's of course understated. Indeed there are very accessible, smashing "hit"-songs, while the sound offers a big variety and the arrangements are very playful. Following the bluesier albums Bare Bone Nest ('89) and Big Lupu ('92), where they've tried to work within a bigger production set up, 22-Pistepirkko got very excited about both Hip Hop and Electro revolution. At the same time they hit on the original home of blues in Ali Farka Toure's African blues music. The band wanted to learn how people made great music with these new sampling machines and computers. They purchased all the modern gear needed and soon 22-PP was totally immersed in them. Now they had to try and see how these new programmed elements would fit in with their sonic palette. The first exploratory landmark of that period was "Rumble City, LaLa Land".
Bone Voyage Recordings is happy to finally release this remarkable gem of Finnish indiepop (before this word was even around) on vinyl for the very first time.
Also this release can be seen as a little hooray for the return of the trio to the Finnish stages, since they've announced their hiatus in August 2015.

A1. Wild Billy - (02:52)
A2. Oo My Head -(04:56)
A3. (Just A) Little Bit More - (03:35)
A4. Tokyo Tiger - (04:08)
A5. Snowy Dave -(04:43)
A6. At The Everybody’s - (03:52)

B1. I Never Said - (03:36)
B2. I Do Do I - (03:36)
B3. Gimme Some Water - (03:53)
B4. Blue Balloon - (03:19)
B5. Nappy King Blues - (04:25)
B6. Coffee Girl - (04:26)