Nadler, Marissa - The path of the clouds (Silver & white) LP

Etusivu > Uutuudet > 26.11.2021 > Vinyylit > Americana

Nadler, Marissa - The path of the clouds (Silver & white) LP
Valm. tuotekoodi
Toimitusaika alk.
5-15 pv
Toimituskulut alk.
30,90 €
sis. ALV 24,00 %

The Path of the Clouds, Marissa Nadler’s ninth solo album, is the most stylistically adventurous, lyrically transfixing, and melodically sophisticated collection of songs in her already rich discography. Gripped by wanderlust while suddenly housebound at the start of the pandemic in 2020, Nadler escaped into writing, and came back with a stunning set of songs about metamorphosis, love, mysticism, and murder. Blurring the line between reality and fantasy and moving freely between past and present, these 11 deeply personal, self-produced songs find Nadler exploring new landscapes, both sonic and emotional.

One of Nadler’s distractions during the 2020 quarantine was binging reruns of Unsolved Mysteries. As she watched, she began to notice parallels between many of its stories and her own life. What began as a writing exercise became the bedrock of her songwriting process, as she came to inhabit the narratives that had so fascinated her. In “Bessie, Did You Make It?,” Nadler inverts the canon of the murder ballad, crafting a narrative of female empowerment and survival. “The Path of the Clouds” tells the story of the infamous hijacker D.B. Cooper, but the song isn’t just about jumping out of an airplane, faking your death, and making a grand exit. It’s a meditation on perseverance and transformation, a salute to mastering one’s fate. “Well, Sometimes You Just Can’t Stay” details the ingenious plans of the only successful escapees from Alcatraz, as well as the lingering enigma that surrounds their history. The lyrical twist on the chorus turns a tale about a prison break into a humorous, shoegazing country song.

1 Bessie Did You Make It 4:29
2 The Path Of The Clouds 4:51
3 Couldn't Have Done the Killing 4:49
4 If I Could Breathe Underwater 4:29
5 Elegy 4:45
6 Well Sometimes You Just Can't Stay 3:52
7 From Vapor to Stardust 3:54
8 Storm 3:53
9 Turned Into Air 3:20
10 And I Dream of Running 3:20
11 Lemon Queen 4:37